top of page

Throwback Thursday

The kids have been very busy on this trip. Many of them have partial blog posts in various stages of completion. I'll continue harragning them to get them completed and turned in over the next days.

From Lydia Webster:

"After a successful day of rehearsal for our performances in the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, EHS Mainstage set out to watch a performance of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream by Synetic Theater. The performance was absolutely spectacular. The story was told entirely through dance, movement, music and sound effects. Words were not used. For me, this made the story somewhat clearer since the actors' inability to speak increased their desire to communicate with the audience making their actions more defined and purposeful. This style of performance taught me that communication with the audience is one of the most important factors in theater. It was a fantastic day!"

From Lauryn King:

"I always think that the thing that makes Shakespeare Shakepeare is his language. So when I hear we were going to see a Shakespeare play that was totally silent, I thought it would miss out on so much. But the actors' gestures were the words, and the story became clear because the actors' work was so strong. In a way, the story was clearer without language, because the actors had to work that much harder to make every bit of the story make sense. "

From Montana Crider:

"I loved it. I had such a good time remembering when we did the show and thinking about when all of us were playing those roles. I remembered so much of the story. But I loved the way they did it with the costumes and the lights and the music. It was so beautiful and surprising. When we went back into rehearsals the next day, I was thinking so much more clearly about telling the story not just with words but with my gestures and facial expressions. I was having ideas for how to play the character that I never thougt of before when I was just thinking about saying the words. I'm really glad we went."

From Noah Collins:

"It was awesome! I'm so glad we got to go. I wasn't in the Mainstage version of Midsummer, but I had read the play in middle school, and the story was so clear from what the actors were doing. I loved how funny it was and how willing the actors were to be really physical in their roles."

From Bailey Coleman:

"We've been talking a lot about actor vanity during camp week, and the one thing that this production hit home for me was the actors' total lack of vanity. They wer so committed to the moment of telling the story and feeling the emotions that they obviously weren't worrying about what they looked like or what other people might think about them. I know I'm seeing a good show anytime I'm watching something and all it makes me want to do is get on stage and perform. That's what it was like to watch this show. I just wanted to be on stage."


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page