top of page

We All Win Together

Many thanks to the kids on my bus who cotributed blog posts.

Three years ago, I sat amongst a group of Mainstage members at the Folger Theater, listening to the presentation of awards after we had performed a revised version of our fall production of Macbeth. Our eclectic cast claimed a bounty of awards that day; I remember feeling delighted that the hard work of Brooke, Bailey (’15), and my sister, Savannah (’14), had been recognized. In addition, we won Best Ensemble and were each presented with a little book of Shakespearean quotes. Yet my freshman year self, clumsy and insecure, couldn’t help but feel a little unseen. My role, son of Macduff, was never going to be in the running for award recognition, but nonetheless I still felt disconnected from our acclaimed principle actors—our wins didn’t feel like my wins.

Twelve plays later, I sat, once again, amongst the Mainstage Company and listened as The Comedy of Errors won Best Costumes (congrats Meg!), Julia achieved All-Star cast, and Lenin claimed Best Supporting Actor. Yet this time, I truly feel that each of these wins are a win for the entire company. Since I have developed such fond memories and close bonds with all three winners, I felt no jealousy or nonchalance; rather, my heart swelled with pride. Our company has blossomed since my time at Episcopal. Knowing that I have contributed both my mind and my heart to the company, and that each of its members has personally touched me in some way or another, makes me feel so much gratitude and pride for those who were recognized. A part of me wondered the other day if I would have preferred ending my time with Mainstage when the spotlight was focused more on myself, as was the case in Footloose and Helpless Doorknobs. However, after experiencing the contagious excitement and delight of our company last night, I can say honestly that there is no other way in which I would prefer to cap off this wonderful and wild roller coaster ride. Last night I was not striving to be the star, and letting go of that selfishness filled me with a sense of achievement. Rather, I feel honored to have been a part of one big, shining, fearless, and united star.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page