top of page

Julia's Workshop Experience

Many thanks to the kids on my bus who wrote blog posts!

Yay for Workshops

Anyone who knows me is familiar with the fact that I am obsessed with Broadway, so of course when I am presented with the opportunity to spend a whole day doing a bunch of workshops I spring at it. I rode the 10:15 shuttle over to the convention center where all the workshops were being held. The first workshop I went to was about using Michael Chekov’s technique in music theatre. Maddy Gale and Nate came with me to this one, which was fun. I can’t say that I was enlightened by it, but I did learn some cool things about the motivation and energy behind each line. Next up was “Legit Singing in Musical Theatre” (examples of Broadway shows that are based around legit singing are Phantom of the Opera, The Sound of Music, Cinderella, etc.). This workshop was fun for me to go to as this is the kind of singing that I am most comfortable with. I didn’t get a chance to go up and sing in front of everyone as this was a really big group, but I learned a lot from watching other people being critiqued. Finally (I still hadn’t eaten lunch at this point since there were only about 15 minutes between each class) I went to a workshop called “Use What You Got: Confidence in Performing.” Mady Hand came with me to this one with the intent of learning about how to be confident in job interviews. This was my favorite workshop out of the three that I did – to be completely honest I was more engaged and took more notes in this workshop than I typically do in a normal class at EHS:) After giving us a talk on how even the slightest of posture adjustments or mental adjustments can completely alter the outcome of an audition for the better. After he talked he ask for volunteers to get up and perform a song or monologue from their audition book. I the final volunteer, and I got to sing the song If I Loved You from Carousel. He gave me some great feedback on stance, posture, support etc. that I found to be very helpful. Overall I had a great time at the workshops and especially at SETC as a whole!!!!


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page